New Blog, and Indulgent Brownies

Hi Sweet Hearts,

Four months ago today, I got married.  Excited as I was to change my last name, it was hard for me to change my blog.  But finally, I am biting the bullet. 

You can find my old adventures here: kmcook.wordpress.com

My old blog begins in 2007 with my adventures in London, and continues into college graduation, engagement, and marriage.  It was a good life over there that other blog, but this is all about new beginnings.

Here are my commitments in a convenient, bulleted list:

  • I will be organized. I will use categories.
  • I will post pictures.  Especially of food.
  • I won’t ramble. That one might be broken.

That’s it. This should be easy. 

And, to get started with all my new commitments, I give you:

The Indulgent Brownies
These are fudgy, rich, chewy, moist, and delicious, with a thin crispy layer on the top.  Just how brownies should be.

Ingredients
-3/4 cup cocoa
-3/4 cup, and 4 Tbsp butter, separate
-1 1/2 cup sugar
-3 eggs
-1/2 Tbsp Vanilla
-1 cup flour
-scant Tbsp instant coffee
-sea salt, for sprinkling

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Place cocoa and 4 Tbsp butter in a glass mixing bowl. Microwave for 20 seconds or until the butter melts. Mix well, until all cocoa is incorporated into the butter.
In a separate pan, brown the 3/4 cup butter. You can do this on the stovetop, continuously swirling the melted butter until it is brown and has a rich, nutty smell, or you can place the pan in the preheating oven and taking it out when the butter is brown. Each method produces the same result*.
Pour the browned butter over the cocoa mixture, and beat until smooth and glossy.
Stir in the sugar, mix well.
Beat in eggs and vanilla.
Stir in flour and instant coffee, mix well.
Pour the batter into a greased 9×13 baking dish. Sprinkle with sea salt. Bake for about 30 minutes.

These brownies will not let you down.

*Note: something I just thought of, is that you could increase the amount of browned butter, and brown it in the baking dish that you will later pour the batter into. That way, you have one less dish to clean, and your pan will be greased automatically.

Variation:
-Cinnamon Sugar Brownies: I almost spread these with a butter/cinnamon/sugar/vanilla mixture right as they came out of the oven. You should try it, and let me know how it tastes.

Let me know if you try these, and how you like them!

-Kelsey May

5 responses to “New Blog, and Indulgent Brownies

  1. Elizabeth Weitz

    YUM! Can’t wait to try these out! I didn’t even know you had a blog till now. This is awesome !

  2. Pingback: I’m back 2011! | endless rain into a paper cup

  3. Pingback: S’mores Brownies | endless rain into a paper cup

  4. Pingback: Dee-Lush Spinach Gratin | endless rain into a paper cup

Leave a comment