Red Velvet Cake?

2007, Hummingbird Bakery, Notting Hill, United Kingdom.

I need your help.

Back story: Those cupcakes were amazing.

That moment marks the very first time I had ever heard about how great red velvet cake is. Both of the cupcakes pictured are red velvet, and both consumers of the red velvet cakes were totally enamored with that flavor. Apparently, red velvet is some exotic, delectable, scrumptious delight.

I never knew.

Obviously, you can tell my cupcake preference by my choices down at the bottom of the picture. Cutesy pink with sprinkles, or dark double fudge with a crumb coating.

But ever since this moment, I have been trying to figure out what it is that’s so special about red velvet cake. It’s obviously won the hearts of millions of people, but I just can’t wrap my mind around it. I mean, it’s just a tiny bit of cocoa in a big white cake colored red, right?

So someone please leave a comment explaining why it’s so good. Help me. I want to understand. I want to be part of the cool group.

Kelsey May

Leave a Reply

