Butterscotch Week!


I Love Butterscotch.

From the year I was born, until my junior year of high school, my family spent a week each summer at an organized trail ride in Missouri. We camped out, and rode our horses for 3 hours every morning. One of the most vivid memories I have of the earliest years was the constant supply of Butter Rum Lifesavers that someone (who? I can’t remember that part) had. It’s still my favorite lifesavers flavor.  Anyone know where to buy them? I don’t.

Margot Tenenbaum. “I’ll have a butterscotch sundae, I guess.” Because let’s face it, who hasn’t had a fascination obsession with Margot at some point in their life?

And if you knew that you could easily make the most delicious butterscotch at home, you’d want to know how, right? It’s so easy.

And it’s butterscotch week, which means that this blog will become deliciously redundant, and I will refuse to post any food that is not laden with the good stuff. So make a batch, you’ll need it.

Homemade Butterscotch
(found on Smitten Kitchen, who adapted it from The Washington Post, who adapted it from The Perfect Cake)

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon coarse sea salt (or 1/2 teaspoon table salt)
3 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add the sugar, cream and salt and whisk until well blended. Bring to a gentle boil and cook for about five minutes, whisking occasionally.

Remove from heat and stir in the vanilla extract.  Taste the sauce (blowing on it first to cool it… melted sugar is hot!) and add more salt or more vanilla to your taste. I used the exact measurements listed above and it was perfect for my taste.

This sauce will keep for two weeks in the refrigerator in an airtight container, but if you make the recipes that I post this week, it won’t last that long. 🙂

Is anyone else as enamored of butterscotch as I am?

K-may

3 responses to “Butterscotch Week!

  1. Pingback: Butterscotch Apple Pie | endless rain into a paper cup

  2. Pingback: Butterscotch Vanilla Cupcakes | endless rain into a paper cup

  3. Pingback: Butterscotch Scones | endless rain into a paper cup

Leave a Reply

