Sweet and Spicy Salmon Glaze

It’s hard to take a pretty picture of a big chunk of salmon.

I’m just going to leave it at that.

This glaze rocks. It came about by me staring in my refrigerator and, subsequently, my pantry, and willing a glaze to be born. I encourage you to do this. It’s therapeutic, and if the glaze turns out well (taste it before you use it… just in case), then you’ll be nice and pumped up about your cooking skills.

But first, try this one. Yeah? Okay.

(When I asked Luke what his favorite part about this meal was, he said, “The Taste.”)

Sweet and Spicy Salmon Glaze
(makes enough to glaze 1 salmon fillet)

2 tablespoons fig preserves*
2 tablespoons sherry**
1 tablespoon low sodium soy sauce
6 dashes (about 1 teaspoon) original Tabasco sauce
salt n pepa to taste

Whisk all ingredients together. Marinate salmon fillet in half the glaze, then grill, pan sear, broil or bake it, basting the fillet with the remaining glaze periodically while cooking. (My favorite method for preparing salmon is outlined here).

Serve with your favorite sides!

*If you don’t have fig preserves, my first recommendation is to go buy some, and once you’re done making this glaze, make this. However, you could substitute honey, agave nectar, or brown sugar for the fig preserves. I suppose.

**If you don’t have sherry, my first question is why don’t you have sherry? Cooking sherry is like 3 dollars a bottle, and it’s kept with the vinegar at the grocery store. BUT I suppose you could try using another liquor in place of the sherry, or white wine. But I can’t endorse the turnout.

Yummy.

Kelsey May

One response to “Sweet and Spicy Salmon Glaze

  1. Pingback: Wine Glaze » Sweet and Spicy Salmon Glaze | endless rain into a paper cup

Leave a Reply

