Spicy Teriyaki Salmon with Ginger Fried Rice

Happy Valentine’s Day! Although, this is hardly a Valentine’s Day post, since it has nothing to do with hearts or chocolate covered strawberries or anything else festive like that.

It’s spicy though. So if you’re looking for a little heat this Valentine’s Day, why don’t you whip up some spicy salmon? Wink.

I recently discovered the joy of salmon skin. In the past, I saw the shiny silver skin and was so grossed out, that I could barely even eat salmon if I had seen the skin on it. But then, I tried eating it and whoa, baby, it’s the best part. Now, Luke gives me his salmon skin too and I get double the omega-3’s as him. HA. In yo face, husband.

But then I got a little paranoid that there might be a scale on the skin that didn’t get scraped off, and what if it lacerates my throat, or stomach lining, or intestines, and I don’t realize it until I’m throwing up blood and rushing to the emergency room and dying? And then once I started thinking about it, I couldn’t eat salmon without my throat becoming itchy, and I just KNEW I had eaten a scale. (Are you hungry yet?)

All you have to do is look at the skin and check for scales, people. Don’t be like neurotic little me.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

One more off topic thing before I get on with the show: This morning I was drinking a smoothie, and Luke said, “I love the way you look when you drink out of a straw. It’s so cute.” And then he tried to show me what it looked like, and he was sucking in his cheeks and crossing his eyes and tilting his head to the side, and all I could think was how lucky I am to have a husband who is attracted to women with disabled faces.

Spicy Teriyaki Salmon with Ginger Fried Rice
(Serves 2)

For the Rice:
4 cups cooked rice (I used short grain sticky rice, but you can use whatever you have on hand)
1/2 cup olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
2 Tablespoons ginger, minced
5 whole eggs
2 Tablespoons low sodium soy sauce (plus more to taste)

For the Salmon:
2 salmon fillets, skin intact
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 cup Kikkoman low sodium, preservative free teriyaki glaze
1 Tablespoon crushed red pepper

Heat 2 Tablespoons olive oil over medium heat in a large skillet. Add ginger, and cook, stirring continuously, for a few minutes, until it begins to soften. Don’t let it burn! Add 2 Tablespoons olive oil and the chopped onion, and heat, stirring often, until the onion begins to soften. Add cooked rice and remaining 1/4 cup olive oil, frying until heated through.

If you have a big enough skillet, push the rice over until it’s only taking up half the skillet, and scramble the eggs in the other half. If your pan is not big enough to do this, then scramble the eggs in a separate skillet. Once eggs are cooked through, stir them into the rice. Add soy sauce. Taste and add more if desired. Decrease heat to low, and let the rice continue to fry, stirring occasionally, while you cook the salmon.

In a separate pan, heat 1 Tablespoon olive oil over medium-high heat. Add salmon fillets, skin side down, and fry until the skin is very brown and crispy. Pour 1/4 cup teriyaki glaze over each fillet, sprinkle with half the crushed red pepper, and flip them over. Reduce heat to medium-low. Pour the rest of the teriyaki glaze over the fillets, sprinkle with the rest of the red pepper, and cook about 5-7 minutes, until cooked through. Flip the salmon back over, skin side down, and increase heat to medium, to flash fry the skin again and make sure it’s nice and crisp.

Serve the salmon fillets atop a bed of ginger fried rice, and drizzle with additional teriyaki glaze or soy sauce if desired.

-Kelsey May

PS If you’re looking for a good song to get you in the Valentine’s mood today, listen to “All Yours” by Metric. It’s stuck in my head, and I don’t hate it.

One response to “Spicy Teriyaki Salmon with Ginger Fried Rice

  1. Pingback: Sweet and Spicy Salmon Glaze | endless rain into a paper cup

Leave a Reply

