Prosciutto, Fig, and Goat Cheese Pizza

I have to tell you something. I’m not sure if I should, but I also don’t quite think I can help it.

I made this pizza on Saturday while my husband was far away with his team of Beautiful Basketball Boys, leading them to a 24 point victory. I wasn’t allowed to go because the game was over an hour away, and the roads might be icy. So instead, I stayed home, watched Harry Potter movies, and made pizza.

When Luke got home, he tried two pieces of the pizza. I assumed he wouldn’t like it (since he’s so picky), so I ate the prosciutto off the last two pieces and threw them in the trash.

Then, much to my astonishment, Luke rushed back into the kitchen, and said “Hey! Where’s the rest of that pizza?”

“Oh… I threw it away,” I sheepishly replied.

We both peered into the trash can, and there they were: The Prodigal Pizza Slices.

Luke said, “Well, get them out. I’ll eat them.”

“What?! I’m not getting them out! They’re in the TRASH!” (that’s me)

“Come on, get them out! I want to eat them!”

So there we were, staring into the trash can. I figured there was no way I was getting out of this. I carefully reached in, and pulled out the last two rogue slices of pizza.

Luke said, “I’ll warm them up.” (I suppose that sanitizes them?)

And I looked around the kitchen, dazed and confused, promising myself: Never Again will I prematurely throw away something I think Luke won’t eat.

It’s a sweet story about the love between a man and wife, and about pizza that’s so good you’ll eat it out of the trash can.

So, you’re going to make this now, right? And not throw any of it away? Because trust me, it will be eaten. All of it.

Prosciutto, Fig, and Goat Cheese Pizza
(Adapted from The Pioneer Woman, surprise surprise)

For the Crust:
1 teaspoon active dry yeast
4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/3 cup olive oil

For the Pizza:
2 tablespoons olive oil
4 tablespoons fig preserves
12 ounces fresh mozzarella, thinly sliced
5 thin slices Prosciutto
1/3 cup crumbled goat cheese
1/4 cup fresh parsley

For the Crust:
This recipe makes 2-3 pizza crusts, and can be stored in the fridge for up to 6 days. Make this ahead of time and use it again for more pizza throughout the week.

Sprinkle yeast over 1 1/2 cups warm (about 100 degrees) water in a small bowl.
In a mixer, combine flour and salt. With the mixer running on low speed (with paddle attachment), drizzle in olive oil until combined with flour. Next, pour in yeast/water mixture and mix until just combined.
Coat a separate mixing bowl with a light drizzle of olive oil, and form the dough into a ball. Toss to coat dough in olive oil, then cover the bowl with a moist tea towel and allow to rise in a warm place (like the laundry room) for 1-2 hours. Use right away or store in the fridge until you need it.

When you’re ready to make the pizza:

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

Roll out 1/3 of the pizza dough as thinly as possible. Place on a pizza stone or baking sheet.

Drizzle lightly with olive oil and sprinkle lightly with sea salt and plenty of black pepper. Spread fig preserves in a very thin layer all over the surface of the dough. Puncture the crust all over with a fork to prevent air bubbles from forming in the crust.

Lay slices of mozzarella all over the surface. Bake for about 10 minutes, until cheese is melted. Add the goat cheese, and return to the oven. Bake for about 5 more minutes, or until the cheese is bubbly and the crust is golden brown.

Remove from oven and immediately lay prosciutto over hot pizza. Just before serving, sprinkle on the parsley.

Cut into wedges and serve immediately!

Once you’ve made one homemade pizza, it becomes sort of an addiction. Don’t worry, I’ll have more pizza recipes to share with you this week, to ensure you’ve gotten your fix. 🙂

Love, Kelsey May

4 responses to “Prosciutto, Fig, and Goat Cheese Pizza

  1. I really want to try this–I’m a PW lover too, and have never been disappointed by her recipes or ideas. Thanks for bringing this to the forefront of my mind. And he fact that your husband pulled it out of the trash is both hilarious and disgusting. And hilarious.

  2. Pingback: Sweet and Spicy Salmon Glaze | endless rain into a paper cup

  3. Pingback: The Peeta Mellark Tart | endless rain into a paper cup

  4. Pingback: Three Cheese Pizza with Potatoes and Caramelized Onions | endless rain into a paper cup

Leave a Reply

