Candied Lemons

Friday night, while I lay upon the couch watching Boston Legal season 2, I started to think about how I could really go for some sour candy.  But then I thought No, Kelsey. You’ll never be able to make sour candy, because you don’t own any citric acid… or whatever it is that makes Sour Patch Kids so delectable.

You see, I’m that weird girl who hunkers down with a large tub of Warheads, eating one after another until my tongue bleeds, and they still aren’t quite sour enough.

Oops! How did that get in there? I definitely was not ever going to show you a picture of my adorable bunny rabbit stretching out on the carpet.

I don’t even like to tell people that I love sour candy, because I’m afraid they’ll buy it for me, and it won’t be sour enough, and I’ll have to pretend to love it because if they knew the truth, guilt would overcome me.  Is everyone enjoying this unpleasant trip into my psyche?

Anyway, onward march. I found a recipe for Candied Meyer Lemons, but since I can pretty much eat regular lemons straight out of the peel, I forwent the Meyer and candied some regular lemons.

And heavens to betsy, this is my new favorite thing. So try it. If you don’t like to torture yourself with acid quite like I do, then try Meyer Lemons, or even oranges or grapefruit.  I kind of think you can’t go wrong. They are delightfully chewy, like the best gummy candy ever.

Candied Lemons

2 Lemons, thinly sliced
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup water

In a large pot or saucepan, bring sugar and water to a boil. Reduce the heat to simmer, and add lemon slices one at a time. Try to arrange them so that they are in a single layer. Let the lemons simmer for 15-20 minutes until they are translucent, then remove to wax or parchment paper to cool. Pour off the syrup into a small container, and definitely save it to sweeten your tea. Once the lemons are cool, chill them in the refrigerator.

Next time, I think I will dip one side of the lemon slices with granulated sugar and slice them in half, like those awesome throwback candy slices that people used to serve at dinner parties. (People did that, right?)

-Kelsey May

6 responses to “Candied Lemons

  1. I’m going to have to try this for Greg. He loves sour candy as much as you do. Or, for br0wnie points with the boss, you could make his some!

  2. The awesome throwback candy slices just happen to be John’s very favorite candy. (it’s a childhood thing, maybe?) I’m excited to make these!

  3. you just made my day. i am so doing this. i ADORE scorching my tounge and BURNING my esophagus!!!!!!! i love your blog and your recipes!!!!!!

    love, ali

Leave a Reply

