Balsamic Glazed Chicken Breast

Let me ask you something.  Can you tell what that is?  Photographing food at night, under fluorescent lighting, while I’m too hungry and impatient to take lots of shots until I find the right one, is really difficult.

But know what? I’m not too proud to show it to you.  You’ve seen my hideous french chicken in a pot photograph, so I figure it’s all downhill from there.

Before I get into the details of this dish, I have an aside. (If you don’t care about what I have to say, and really just want a new idea for the chicken breast in your freezer, then skip down, I won’t be offended.  In fact, I won’t even know.)

Last night I started training for a half-marathon.  I have never done this before.  In fact, I haven’t run more than a couple blocks sporadically since I ran track in high school.  I have 11 weeks until the race, so this week I am just warming up.  Last night I ran a slow paced 2.5 miles.  And you guys, it felt GOOD.  I did not expect that.  I loved every minute of it, and felt great afterward.  Maybe I have finally found a workout system that I’ll stick to.

One serving of this meal is around 555 calories, in case you care. (Including the sides that I recommended) If you don’t care, then just pay attention to the fact that it’s delicious and unique, not to mention eeeeeeasy as pie. Maybe easier than pie actually, because pie is kind of difficult, between the crust and the filling and the meringue, etc.

Balsamic Glazed Chicken Breast with Mushrooms and Onions
(Idea for the sauce is stolen from Jessica at How Sweet, although she put it on gnocci instead of chicken)
Serves 2

1 Large Chicken Breast, trimmed and sliced in half to make 2 thin breasts
4 Medium White Mushrooms, cut into fourths
1/3 Large Yellow Onion, cut into thick, 1 inch slices
1 Cup Balsamic Vinegar
1 1/2 Tablespoon Smart Balance Butter, softened
1 Clove Garlic, minced
1/2 Tablespoon Dried Basil

In a medium saucepan, bring Balsamic Vinegar to a boil, then immediately reduce heat to simmer. Allow the vinegar to simmer until it’s thickened and reduced to about half. Once it’s reduced, remove from heat.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine Butter, Garlic, and Basil with a fork. Put half the butter mixture into a skillet on medium-high, and saute onion and mushrooms until well seared. Remove vegetables to a bowl or plate, set aside.

Heat the other half of the Garlic Basil Butter in the skillet, and add chicken breast halves, cook chicken for about two minutes on each side, or until it’s well  browned and the juices run clear.

Return vegetables to the skillet with the chicken, and let reheat until the vegetables are softened.  Add the balsamic reduction, and stir to coat the chicken and vegetables well.

Serve atop brown rice, with crusty bread on the side to soak up the extra balsamic reduction.

I was surprised at how just one ingredient, simmered down to a thick glaze, created such a well rounded flavor.  It’s tangy and sweet.  Definitely different from how I usually cook, and not an unwelcome change!

-Kelsey May

2 responses to “Balsamic Glazed Chicken Breast

  1. I love this low cal meal. It really looks delicious. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

