Whole Wheat Molasses Bread

Here’s my life: It’s Friday night.  Luke’s at an away game, too far for me to drive, so I’m at home.  I just finished the book I am currently reading, so I lie on the ground and let Waffles hop all over me while I try to decide what to do.

Then I click over to this blog and see this bread.  I’m thinking, welp, might as well. I have molasses, because I make all my brown sugar with it, and I have no idea if I actually like it, but here goes nothin’.

Oh, and I’m totally skeptical about the corn meal.  I want soft bread, not crunchy.  I want wheat bread, not corn bread. but I figure, Joy The Baker is a professional baker/blogger, so maybe I should trust her and not automatically adapt this recipe like I do to every other recipe that I follow.

And lo and behold, following this recipe turns out to be one of the best choices I’ve ever made.  5 thick slices later and I. am. a happy girl.  This bread begs for a pat of butter and a cup of coffee (or tea).  And I am probably going to go grab one more piece as soon as I finish this post.

Whole Wheat Molasses Bread
Recipe from the New York Times

1 2/3 cups buttermilk (no buttermilk? Just add 1 Tbsp vinegar to 1 cup milk, wait 5 minutes, stir, and voila! buttermilk.)
2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup cornmeal
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup molasses

Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Grease an 8×4 or 9×5-inch loaf pan.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, cornmeal, salt and baking soda.

In a small bowl whisk together buttermilk or yogurt and molasses.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and fold to combine. The batter will be slightly thick, but not dry. Spoon batter into prepared pan and place in the oven. Bake loaf for 45 minutes to an hour. Rotate the loaf 180 degrees halfway through baking time, but be careful with the roughhousing, we don’t want this baby to sink.

When a knife inserted in the center of the loaf comes out clean, remove the loaf from the oven and allow to cool for 20 minutes in the loaf pan. Run a butter knife along the sides of the pan and carefully invert onto a wire rack.

Loaf will keep, well wrapped at room temperature for up to 4 days, if it lasts that long. It’s been two days at my house and I’m about to eat the last piece.

Delicious.

kelsey may

3 responses to “Whole Wheat Molasses Bread

  1. This bread looks soooo good! I think I might just make it 🙂

  2. Ever since I had a piece of this bread at your house, I have been dying to make it myself. Problem is, I will definitely not be able to stop eating once I start! It is so yummy!

Leave a Reply

