The Good, The Bad, The Ridiculous

Hair.

As most girls do, I have a very tight-knit relationship with my hair.

When I was little, my hair was so long that I constantly sat on it. I begged for a short hair cut, but my mom was too attached to it to cut it short.  I got my first real haircut in 5th grade, and that’s when the addiction began.

I can’t really think of a hairstyle that I haven’t had.  I give all the credit where it’s due, to my wonderful friend and amazing hair stylist, Shelby.  She’s the only reason my hair wasn’t a constant disaster.  When I let Shelby do what she wanted, people wanted to copy me.  There were, however, times that I sat in her chair, showed her a picture in a magazine, and would not budge against her wise protests. (To be clear: anything you see here that’s cute, is attributed to Shelby.  Anything you see that’s hideous, that was all me.)

I have let my hair grow for a few years now, longing for luxurious mermaid style locks.  I finally have them, and wow… there’s the itch. So today I’m having my hair cut with a new stylist (RIP glorious days of living in the Austin area) and I’m nervous. We’ll see if anyone else could possibly be as trustworthy and talented as Shelby.

Here’s a tribute to my hairy past: The Good, The Bad, and The Ridiculous:

Not sure how well you can tell, but my hair is pink. Hot Pink. Like the color of Sweet and Sour sauce. Yum.

(Side note: That’s also the summer that I wore a swim suit under my clothes every day, just in case there was an opportunity for swimming.)

Orange you glad you colored your hair at home, Kelsey?

A-ha. Finally figured out that if I let her, Shelby could right a myriad of wrongs.

And why WOULDN’T I go to London looking exactly like Elton John?

And this is where things start to get out of control.

Mmhmmm. See what I mean? Only Gwen Stefani can actually be… Gwen… Stefani.

Oh yeah, hey there, bangs-that-didn’t-work-for-you.

Not pictured, is 2 months later, when swimming every day with over-processed hair had turned my hair bright, neon green. Which brings us to the only way to cover up such horrifically green hair:

You must color it.  You must color it dark, and you must color it red, because it’s the opposite of pale and green.

And this, I believe, is when I learned my lesson. So  it’s gone from there, I have been careful to leave my hair alone and not make any blunders.

For good measure:

That’s the beautiful work that Shelby did for my wedding. 🙂

And here we are now, long and normal and naturally colored.

We’ll see what happens at noon today.  Is anyone else nervous?

-Kels

EDIT: Love my new hair, wondering if I’ll ever grow it out again? I feel like short might be more flattering on my long, narrow face.

4 responses to “The Good, The Bad, The Ridiculous

  1. i love all your hair styles. can’t wait to see your new doo!

  2. I utterly enjoyed every part of this blog.

  3. I strangely liked the Gwen Stefani. But my favorite is now. It is the most flattering style yet. Of course, you are beautiful in all the styles and rainbow of colors!

Leave a Reply

