Poulet en Cocotte

Learning Experiences.

I have been avoiding posting this, because it’s hideous.

I just can’t reconcile photographs of meat with beauty.

However, this dish is delicious. Like, unbelievable. And it was fun and rewarding, and easy.

So, here you go, Ladies and Gents…. French Chicken In A Pot.  I’m so sorry…

Gosh, I feel ashamed of myself.  I feel like if I saw this picture while I was drinking my morning coffee (as I am right now) I would spew the coffee onto the computer screen, exit the browser window as quickly as possible, and remove this blog from my subscriptions.  It just gives me the heebie jeebies.

(can you tell how insecure I feel right now?)

However, please don’t do that. Just scroll down until you can’t see the photograph anymore, and just forget you ever saw it.  Then, go make this dish because hooooly cow. Talk about the juiciest, most flavorful chicken you’ve ever had.

I blame Julia Child. Julia made me do it.

Poulet en Cocotte (French Chicken in A Pot)
(Adapted from Cook’s Illustrated)
Ingredients:
-1 Whole Chicken (Mine was about 4 pounds)
-1 teaspoon salt
-1/4 teaspoon black pepper
-1 tablespoon olive oil
-1/2 cup chopped white onion
-5 garlic cloves, peeled and trimmed
-2 teaspoons dried oregano
-1 teaspoon lemon juice

Adjust oven rack to lowest position, and preheat oven to 250 degrees. Remove all the weird inside stuff from the chicken (this was my first time to ever reach inside a bird of any kind. It was weird, kind of fun, and oddly liberating). Pat chicken dry with a paper towel, then sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Heat olive oil in a Dutch Oven over medium heat until just smoking. Add chicken, breast side down. Add the onion, garlic, and oregano, scattering evenly around the chicken. Cook just until the chicken breasts are browned, then flip the bird over by using a wooden spoon inserted into the cavity as leverage. Cook until the back of the bird is browned.

Remove pot from the heat. Cover the pot tightly with foil, then with the lid of the pot. Transfer the pot to the oven and cook about 1 1/2 – 2 hours, until a thermometer inserted into the thickest part of the breast reads 160 degrees, and 175 degrees when inserted into the thickest part of the thigh.

Transfer the chicken to a carving board, tent with foil, and let rest 20 minutes. Meanwhile, strain the juice from the pot through a wire mesh strainer, pressing on the solids to get all the juice out. (Strain juice into a fat strainer if you have one. If not, just strain into a glass measuring cup or bowl.) Discard solids. Allow the liquid to settle, and if you don’t have a fat separator, spoon out the grease that settled on top. Pour the juice into a saucepan over low heat. Stir lemon juice into the juice, adding more to taste. Serve chicken au jus.

And now, a little note on Dutch Ovens: They’re funny.

Amen.

Love, Kelsey May

Leave a Reply

