The Most Thrilling Salad of My Life

Normally, I am not a fan of salads unless they are smothered in sliced sirloin, candied pecans and bleu cheese dressing, fried chicken strips and honey mustard, or shrimp and bacon. However, in a recent decision to eat healthy food and shed the last 5 pounds of my post-wedding-weight-gain, I made this salad.

I scarfed it down like my life depended on it, then I sat, breathing heavily, in disbelief of the deliciousness that my mouth had just sustained.

And then I literally spent the rest of my day thinking about it.

And THEN, I ruined everything and ate concession stand nachos and sour punch straws for dinner at my husband’s basketball game. (It was worth it.  Go Bulldogs!)

*Side Note: Is anyone tired of me hastily taking pictures of food before work or on my lunch break with my iPhone yet? Yikes. This picture was taken pre-dressing. Oops.

Greek Salad with Lemon Garlic Dressing

Ingredients
-Romaine Lettuce
-Parsley
-Cherry (or is it grape?) Tomatoes
-Sliced white Onion
-Greek Black Olives
-Reduced Fat Feta Cheese
-Sliced Hard Salami

Basically, you put the Romaine in a bowl and sprinkle your desired amount of toppings on top, then top with the BEST.SALAD DRESSING.EVER.

Lemon Garlic Salad Dressing
(by WhatLifeDishesOut on Tasty Kitchen)

Ingredients
-1/3 cup lemon juice
-2 tablespoons water
-2 cloves garlic, minced
-1 teaspoon dried oregano
-1/4 teaspoon sugar
-1/4 teaspoon salt
-6 tablespoons olive oil

Place lemon juice, water, minced garlic, oregano, sugar and salt in a jar. Cover and shake well to combine. Add olive oil to the jar. Cover, shake until well blended and creamy.

When ready to serve, shake well before pouring over salad.

*A note about this salad dressing: If you store it in the fridge, take it out after a couple of days, and it’s chunky and separated, just put it in the microwave for 8-10 seconds, shake it, and it will magically smooth out again.

So easy! And sooooo to die for.

Plus, I can’t even begin to tell you how healthy this is. Parsley, tomatoes, onions, olives, lemon juice, fresh garlic, oregano, and olive oil all have amazing health benefits.

All I need is some pita bread and baba ganoush… But they don’t sell that kind of fancy stuff in East Texas. Boo.

-Kelsey May

Leave a Reply

