Pecan Crusted Chicken with Creamy Garlic Tomato Soup

I need to make a confession.

I am a terrible, no good, very bad blogger. I think I might hide it pretty well, but Honey, I can’t fool my own self.

Here’s a nice story: Two nights ago, the Henry’s came over to our house.

This is a picture of the Henry’s a few weeks ago at a fried food restaurant that I don’t remember the name of. Beautiful, right? (Hope you don’t mind being featured!)

Anyway, they came over and we had a gorgeous, delicious meal. I made Pecan Crusted Chicken, Creamy Tomato Soup, and Smokehouse Maple Sweet Potato Fries. Katie brought the most beautiful and delicous salad (greens+walnuts+goat cheese+dried cranberries+homemade croutons+fig dressing) I have ever had, and oh-so-yummy buttered french bread.

We all stuffed ourselves silly, and as soon as we were finished, I realized that I had forgotten to take pictures to show you.

So the next day, I took pictures of my leftovers on an old, ugly, chipped plate that I found in the kitchen at my office. I should probably be shunned and banned from the world of food blogs. If I were getting paid (which I just found out last weekend is possible), I would be ashamed of myself. However, I’m not getting paid, and I can do whatever I want.

Creamy Garlic Tomato Soup

This soup surprised me. I didn’t look at a recipe, I just guessed and added stuff until it seemed right, and was amazed at the results. I have no idea if this is the right way to make tomato soup, but nobody seemed to mind. (And Luke, the tomato hater, even liked dipping his bread in it. Like Whoa.)

Ingredients:
-4 8 oz Cans Hunts Tomato Sauce
-1 Small White Onion (I used the bulb of a spring onion)
-2 Cloves Garlic
-1 cup Skim Milk
-4 oz NeufChatel Cheese (aka 1/3 Less Fat Cream Cheese), cut into cubes

Dice the onion. In a large soup pot over medium head, combine tomato sauce and diced onion. Stir, let simmer for a minute or two. Next, mince the garlic cloves by peeling them, squishing them with the side of your knife, and dicing. Add them to the soup, and let cook over medium heat for 10 minutes. Add the milk and cream cheese, and stir well. Let cook for about 5 more minutes to let the cheese melt, and stir well with a whisk to fully incorporate the cheese. Let the soup simmer on low heat until you’re ready to eat.
Note: This soup is very flavorful– I didn’t add any salt or pepper or seasonings at all, and it didn’t need them. If you can’t handle the garlic, you could decrease it to one clove or omit it completely, then season with salt and pepper to taste.
P.S. Is it bad that I think this soup rivals La Madeleine’s Tomato Basil Soup? Don’t tell anyone I said that!

Pecan Crusted Chicken Breasts

Ingredients:
-3 Large Chicken breasts, Marinated in Balsamic Vinaigrette
-2 whole eggs-1 1/2 cup Chopped Pecans
-3/4 cup shredded Parmesan Cheese

*First, a note on marinated chicken: When I buy chicken breast, I take it home and immediately put the breasts in group of 3 in freezer bags, fill the bags with sauce or dressing, and freeze them until I’m ready to cook them. I’ll use anything from vinaigrette to teriyaki sauce to barbeque sauce. It creates easy meal planning– if you already have something marinating in your freezer, all you have to do is thaw it and cook it without thinking about it.
*Confession: I had to look how up to spell vinaigrette. yikes.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Mix together chopped pecans and parmesan cheese in a shallow bowl, set aside. Spray a 9×13 baking dish with cooking spray. Beat the eggs with a fork or whisk in a separate shallow bowl, set aside. Slice the chicken breasts lengthwise, so that you end up with 6 thinner chicken breasts.
Next, set up your breading station (learned this from working at Chik-fil-A. wow.) In a row, in this order, place the raw chicken, the beaten eggs, the pecan mixture, and the greased baking dish. Then do your breading. With a fork, pick up one breast, dip it in the egg, then let the excess egg drip off. Next, press the chicken into the pecans, flipping it over and pressing it down again to make sure it gets pretty well covered. Then place the chicken in the baking dish and repeat with all the other chicken breasts. Once all the chicken is arranged in the baking dish, sprinkle the remaining pecan mixture over the top of the chicken and press it down with a fork. Next, spray the top with a little more cooking spray, and bake for about 15 minutes or until it’s just cooked through. Then, turn on the broiler for a minute or two to get the pecans nice and crispy. (Watch closely so it doesn’t burn!)

I dipped my chicken in the tomato soup and it was divine. I also fantasized about putting the chicken breast between two buttered, toasted pieces of bread. Yum. And this made great leftovers, because the pecans stay pretty crunchy.

Yum!

-K-May

P.S. An old, and favorite friend of mine at http://www.SuperStippy.com gave me some Link Love today on his blog. Thanks Stippick! Go check him out if you’re a blog lover like me, and you’re looking for a new blog to read! 🙂

3 responses to “Pecan Crusted Chicken with Creamy Garlic Tomato Soup

  1. your recipe says parmesan crusted!

    whatever it is, it looks yumz.

  2. Pingback: S’mores Brownies | endless rain into a paper cup

Leave a Reply

