Pumpkin Cupcakes with Brown Butter Frosting

There is a sweet, adorable lady who, as a wedding gift to Luke and me, incorporated our wedding invitation into a painting and framed it.  It’s probably my favorite decoration in our entire house, and resides on our mantle.  It’s unbelievably sweet.  Maybe soon I will take a picture and post it. 

Anyway, a few weeks ago I saw her again at a get together and she had made some pumpkin muffins that everyone was raving about.  As I mentioned before, I’m not a huge pumpkin lover, but I do love this lady, so I tried one.

And Whoa.

These are great. They are so insanely moist and perfect.  And she told me how to make them, and you won’t believe that it’s only two ingredients.  So of course I added frosting, and now I get to call them cupcakes.  They might not be the prettiest gals at the party, but they sure know how to have a good time. So try them, and bask in your newfound insta-popularity.  Baked goods make you popular– don’t argue, it’s science.

Pumpkin Cupcakes
(makes 12 cupcakes)

Ingredients:
-1 box Spice Cake mix (I used Duncan Hines, but I’m sure any mix will do)
-1 can Pumpkin (15 oz)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Beat the two ingredients together (I used the paddle attachment on my stand mixer) until fully combined and smooth. Grease a muffin tin well with cooking spray.  With a spatula, drop a large dollop of the batter into each cup of the muffin tin– the batter will be really stiff, much thicker than normal cake batter- that’s okay. I filled each cup to the top.   Once you’ve filled all the cups, spray a knife with cooking spray, and smooth the top of each cupcake. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until a knife inerted into a cupcake comes out clean. 

Martha Stewart’s Brown Butter Icing

Ingredients:
-1 stick unsalted butter
-2 cups sifted powdered sugar
-2 teaspoons vanilla extract
-2 teaspoons milk, plus more if needed

Melt the butter in a small saucepan over medium head, swirling occasionally until it’s a rich, nutty brown. Pour the browned butter into a mixing bowl, straining out any burnt solids. Add the powdered sugar and vanilla, stir until smooth. Add milk by the teaspoon, stirring after each addition, until just spreadable. This icing has a tendency to separate, so just stir well if it does.

These were delicious without any icing at all, and would also be great with cream cheese frosting, so do them your way and enjoy!

-Kels

11 responses to “Pumpkin Cupcakes with Brown Butter Frosting

  1. I am SO making these today!! Partly because they sound amazing, and partly because they sound so cheap to make. hahaha. How sad am I?

  2. I will definately be making this recipe! I love that it is only 2 ingredients 🙂

  3. Well, the one I sampled was delicious. I’m taking them to Thanksgiving tomorrow, so we’ll see!! I’m going to try the cream cheese icing 🙂

  4. Hey Kelsey! So I foudn this recipe on here and LOVE it! Thanks!! We are making these for our family today on Thanksgiving. Great recipe!

  5. These were really good and easy! Thanks for the recipe!

  6. Pingback: I’m back 2011! | endless rain into a paper cup

Leave a Reply

