So Yummy Spicy Turkey Corn Chowder

SO, let me tell you a story about this soup.

One day, I read Pioneer Woman’s recipe for Corn Chowder with Chilies. Now, I don’t really like corn.  And I’ve never tried corn chowder.  But, since I’m hopelessly addicted to food, this recipe stuck in my brain and made my mouth water and my stomach rumble and I could not stop thinking about it. All day, I imagined myself making this soup.

And I don’t even like corn.  (I already said that.)

I have a problem, and it’s the reason why none of my jeans fit.

So after work I drove home as quickly as I could, ran in the house, and started making soup.  But I didn’t have the same ingredients as Pioneer Woman, so I improvised.

The result, when the spoon went into my mouth, sounded something like this:

Oh. Oh my gosh.  How did this happen? Did I make this? Holy Cow.” So I immediately called Luke, told him to come home soon, that I had just made the best soup of all time. When he tried it, he was speechless. He asked what it was called.

I said, “I don’t know… spicy corn soup?”

Obviously that would not be good enough for him, so he requested that it be named “Luke’s Sexy Soup.”

So… it’s called “So Yummy Spicy Turkey Corn Chowder.”

That was a great story… I know.

Anyway, whatever. Just make this soup. And if you have little kids or sensitive taste buds, leave the jalapeno out I guess, or scrape the seeds out. Your call.

So Yummy Spicy Turkey Corn Chowder
Ingredients:
-1 pound ground turkey (I get 93/7 so it’s not white meat)
-1 small onion, diced
-2 tablespoons butter
-4 cups corn kernels (frozen, not canned. Or scrape it off the cob if you’re crazy)
-1/2 jalapeno, diced (seeds in if you love spice, like me. it will calm down, I promise)
-32 ounces low sodium chicken broth (I use Better Than Bouillon paste, it’s great)
-1  cup cream
-1 cup milk
-1 teaspooon salt
-3 Tablespoons cornmeal
-1/4 cup water
-your favorite bread, cut into cubes, 1 slice per bowl

In a large pot, saute the turkey and onions on high heat.  When the turkey is fully cooked, add butter and stir until melted.  Stir in the corn, and cook for one minute.  Stir in the jalapeno.  Pour in the broth, then the cream and milk, stirring well to combine.  Stir in the salt.  Bring the soup to a boil, then reduce heat to low.  Combine the cornmeal with 1/4 cup water in a small bowl, stir well, and add it to the soup.  Simmer, stirring occasionally, for another 15 minutes.  When the soup is ready to serve, put a handful of bread cubes into a bowl and pour the soup over it.  Enjoy!

Now my mouth is watering.

-Kelsey May

One response to “So Yummy Spicy Turkey Corn Chowder

  1. Pingback: I’m back 2011! | endless rain into a paper cup

Leave a Reply

