Cinnamon Strudel Coffee Creamer

I love coffee. I am not a coffee critic, or a coffee snob. I just like it strong and hot. I do love flavored creamer, but it’s the kind of thing with ingredients that I turn a blind eye to when I’m picking it up at the grocery store. Between the corn syrup solids, hydrogenated oils, and numerous preservatives, there is no way that it’s good for me in any way.

So when I found this recipe on Tasty Kitchen, I knew I had to make it. It was easy and took less than 5 minutes, and I am feeling pretty good about what I’m putting in my body as I’m drinking it right now.

Here’s the recipe, in case you don’t want to click over because you’re just that lazy. (I am totally on the same page if that’s the case)

Ingredients:
– 1 Cup Milk (I used 2% because it’s what I had)
-1 Cup Heavy Cream
-4 Tablespoons Maple Syrup
-1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
-2 teaspoons vanilla extract
-1 teaspoon almond extract

Whisk together milk, cream, maple syrup and cinnamon in a medium saucepan over medium heat. When the mixture begins to steam, remove from the heat. Stir in extracts. Strain through a fine mesh sieve, pour into a glass bottle and store in the refrigerator.

Note: I would definitely find a way to sweeten this recipe more, whether it’s by adding more maple syrup (I would double it and do 1/2 cup) or adding Stevia to the mixture. I didn’t taste the creamer before I bottled it, and this morning at the office I added 1/2 packet Splenda to my cup and it brought the creamer alive. I am not a super sweet coffee drinker, but this creamer wasn’t sweet enough for me. So taste it and play with the measurements until you love it.

Thank you, Carrie @ Deliciously Organic for such a creative recipe that we can feel good about putting in our bodies!

-Kelsey May

P.S. I will always, always give credit for recipes where it is due. If I use or adapt someone’s recipe I will link to it. If I don’t link a recipe to anything, it’s because the recipe came out of my own head. Just FYI 🙂

2 responses to “Cinnamon Strudel Coffee Creamer

  1. Want to let us know how long it lasts? I don’t buy coffee creamer for the same reasons you. Butt I need the creamer to last long enough to make it worth it, without inviting others over to use it up..

    • Thanks for commenting, LaRee! I am not sure exactly how long this lasts, but it’s definitely at least two weeks. I have been using it like normal coffee creamer, and haven’t noticed any issues. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

