30 Minute Cheater Strawberry Jam

Jam has always been intimidating to me. It seems like it requires lots of time, equipment, jars, and patience. I don’t have much of any of that.

But I have this sweet memory of a friend’s mom who used to make strawberry jam that knocked my socks off. When she made it, I would scoop as much as possible onto my dinner roll, hoping to never forget that taste.

Well, guess what? We cheaters, who have no patience or resources, can make jam too. And it tastes awesome. Here’s how.

Start with a pound of frozen strawberries. Already sliced, with the little green hats already removed.

Pour them into a baking dish and defrost in the microwave.

Measure a half cup of sugar. Note: this will make your jam SWEET. If you don’t want your jam to taste syrupy sweet, reduce to 1/3 cup. (If, however, you’re making rhubarb or raspberry, or any other tart fruit, you will want the whole 1/2 cup)

Oops, not pictured: also measure 1 tsp cornstarch. It will help thicken your jam. If you don’t mind runny jam, leave it out. Or, if you don’t have cornstarch but you want thick jam, you can always strain out the syrup. So many options, all of them easy!

Pour the sugar and cornstarch into your strawberries.

Stir.

Bake the mixture in a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes.

Note on my crusty oven: this mess was there before Luke and I moved in, and it will not come off. So don’t judge me.

Also: doesn’t this picture remind you of TRON?

Remove when nice and bubbly.

Next, pour the strawberries in a stand mixer, food processor, or blender. I used my mixer because the other two options were in the dishwasher. Blend/beat/process until it becomes one big mushy jammy mess, and you wonder if you fell asleep and woke up in a bloody horror movie. (gross! Sorry.)

Let cool, store airtight in the fridge for up to 2 weeks. Eat it on anything! I chose an English muffin with peanut butter. Yum!

3 responses to “30 Minute Cheater Strawberry Jam

  1. I want some jam!!! It looks scrumptuous!

  2. Kelsey reading this made me miss my little mama!
    Loves you 🙂
    baby girl

Leave a Reply

