French Onion Burgers

Y’all ready for this?

It’s my first step-by-step tutorial with pictures.

All pictures were taken on my iPhone (like always) because I can’t find the USB cord for my Nikon.  In fact, I have a crazy delicious breakfast recipe to share with you, but the pictures are on my Nikon so it will have to wait.

For now, you get low-res pictures for a super yummy meal.

First: Defrost your beef.  I had a delicious hamburger at Katie and Kevin’s house, and they said it was so good because they used ground sirloin.  So, I’ll never use anything but ground sirloin ever again. Yum. Side Note: I always defrost my meat in a sink full of lukewarm water, never in the microwave.  In the microwave, you end up with pieces of chewy, cooked meat.  In lukwarm water, the plastic doesn’t reach a temperature that can hurt you, (research BPA in plastic if you don’t know what I’m talking about) and the meat defrosts evenly.  Best case scenario: you put it in the refridgerator the night before and it defrosts slowly throughout the day.

Next, Butter a skillet.  I use Smart Balance 50/50 butter, so the guilt is minimal.  Heat butter over medium heat.

Slice a red onion.  Start by peeling off the papery outer layer, then chop off the top and the bottom.  Next, slice into rings.  Then slice the rings in half with one fell swoop of your knife.

Add onions to skillet.  These need a while to cook, and you can’t really cook them for too long.  I started cooking these while my meat was still thawing, and they never over cooked.  The goal is to let them get really nice and soft.  When they carmelize is when you enter heaven. Side Note: Sometimes I add a drizzle of molasses or brown sugar to the onions to intensify the sweetness.  I’ll leave that choice up to you this time.

Throw some Tabasco sauce in with your ground beef.  I like to go a little crazy with the sauce, because I’m in love with spice.  If you’re scared of it, leave this step out and forgoe any seasoning at all.  Seriously! Just straight up ground beef.

If you did add hot sauce to your beef, mix it up with your hands, then form the beef into three patties.  I seriously need to take a class on forming patties, because mine are pathetic.  Hopefully you’re better at this step than me. Make the patties a lot larger and flatter than you think you’ll need- they’ll shrink up.  Put the patties into a large non-stick skillet, and turn the heat on to medium-high.

Brown the patties. Once the patties have browned for two minutes on one side, flip them over.  Take care not to flip too early, or else your patties might fall apart, like one of mine started to. Oopsie.

Note: You should be stirring your onions periodically.  They will be getting soft, and the smell eminating from them will be irresistable.  Take it from me: no amount of self control is going to keep you from trying one, so go ahead.  Oh girlfriend.

Next: The secret ingredient.  If you don’t like to use canned foods (again with the BPA) (and I usually don’t use canned foods– but I needed to get rid of this!) you could just make a beef broth using bouillon cubes.  But I have to admit… this stuff is delish.

Pour the soup in with the burger patties. The whole can.

Let the soup and burger patties cook all the way through, about 10 minutes on medium-high.  See that patty on the upper left? That’s the one I flipped too early.  Let this be a warning to you.

Once burgers are almost fully cooked, add some cheese on top.  I like goat cheese, and Luke likes mozzarella.  Let the cheese get warm and gooey.

Oh gosh.  My stomach is growling.

Put the burger patties on toasted whole wheat english muffins for buns and top with the carmelized onions. Pour the rest of the soup in individual ramekins for dipping sauce (cute!) and serve with green beans.

For these green beans, I poured them (frozen) into a pie plate, drizzled them with olive oil, soy sauce, and molasses, and sprinkled with salt and pepper, and cooked them at 400 degrees the whole time that I prepared the rest of the meal.  It was a successful experiment.

Is anyone else starving now? Just me?

-Kels

Leave a Reply

