Faking Perfect Skin

If you know me, you know that I do not have perfect skin.  I don’t really even have good skin.  I  struggled with acne for about 10 years, but that victory is another story for another blog post. Trust me, I know the scoop on skincare because I have tried so many things and most of them failed.

But today, I want to talk about faking perfect skin.  Because, although I have found victory over acne, old habits die hard.  So the mornings after I picked at all the phantom pimples, my skin does not look so peachy.  And don’t even get me started on acne scarring, because I might start hating myself.

Anyway, this combination of makeup literally made my jaw drop.  My skin has never looked so… flawless. And dewy.  My skin looked like a sponge cake.  If that doesn’t sound attractive to you, then maybe you need to go check out another sponge cake. Dang.

Here’s what I did:

1. Paula’s Choice Barely There Sheer Matte Tint This is a pretty thick tinted moisturizer.  I have normal to oily/combination skin, and it gave me just the right amount of moisture and evened my skin tone just a bit. note: it does contain zinc oxide as a sunscreen, so some sensitive skin types might break out from it.  But I, the girl breaks out from EVERYTHING, does not break out from it. Plus, Paula’s Choice offers a 60 day money back guarantee.  Not sure how you can go wrong there.

2. Paula’s Choice Best Face Forward Foundation (I swear this is not a Paula’s Choice Ad… Her products just happen to be awesome) This foundation is for normal to oily/combination skin. (If you have dry skin, the All Bases Covered Foundation is a good choice. I tried this one too, and it was just too dewy for my skin) I applied this using a foundation brush, and my face was immediately lumious, glowy, and even.  It makes me happy just thinking about it. Maybe that’s a little much on the vanity front. Oh well.

3. Kat Von D Tattoo Concealer I originally bought this to cover my wrist tattoo at work.  (Who gets a wrist tattoo? 18 year olds with hot pink hair who just broke up with their boyfriend and  that think wearing a chunky bracelet every day to cover it up won’t get old). It didn’t cover the tattoo well, even with 3 thick layers. However, as a blemish concealer, this stuff rocks.  It has almost no slip, so blend quickly and watch your imperfections disappear.  Seriously.  This product is really pricey, but I have had it for over a year and am not even close to running out, and it doesn’t dry out because it’s in a squeeze tube instead of a jar.

Three steps.  Pretty easy right? I don’t use powder because it’s kind of an unneeded extra step, and I like the glowiness of an unpowdered face.

What are your go-to makeup products? I haven’t found the right blush yet… any suggestions?

Later, I’ll post the yummy shrimp fried rice I made last night.

Kels

Leave a Reply

