Perfect Smoothies

The fact that Luke and I have not been downing nearly as many fruits and vegetables as we need has really started to get to me. So when I saw this post at How Sweet It Is, I felt a happy solution coming on.

The first day that I made smoothies for breakfast, Luke said, “Well, I don’t really like to drink smoothies in the morning. But I know this will be good for me, so I’ll do it.”

Yesterday, Luke said, “This is the best smoothie I have ever had!”

And last night, Luke said (multiple times), “Are you making smoothies again in the morning? I really hope so. I can’t wait for another smoothie!”

Wow, I know.  And they really are that good.  A major plus is that we feel great about drinking them, because they are a perfect blend of delicious, healthy ingredients, and they end up tasting like a peanut butter and jelly milkshake.  They are even worth waking up 10 minutes early to make them. Yep, I said it.

The Perfect Breakfast Smoothie
(Serves 2)

3/4 cup organic skim milk
3/4 cup V8 Fusion strawberry banana juice
2 Tbsp (heaping) nonfat plain greek yogurt
2 frozen sliced bananas (slice them before you freeze them)
3/4 cup frozen mixed berries
2 Tbsp (heaping) Skippy natural peanut butter
2 Tbsp cocoa
3 packets Stevia
2 large handfuls fresh spinach

Place all ingredients besides the spinach in the blender, blend on high until smooth. Add spinach, pushing it down into the mixture until covered, blend on high until smooth.

Pour into two large glasses, and enjoy!

Disclaimer, Part Un: Use whatever brand you like for these ingredients– I just gave you some of the labels that I used as an example. V8 Fusion is part fruit, part vegetable juice, but whatever juice you buy make sure that it’s 100% juice with no added sugar.

Disclaimer, Part Deux: Skippy Natural peanut butter is delush, with no hydrogenated oil. However, it does have added sugar, so to go even healthier, choose a peanut butter with peanuts and salt only on the label.

Disclaimer, Part Trois: You’ll be surprised– you can’t even taste the spinach. Really!

I am currently gazing lovingly at this recipe, thinking about what a perfect blend of vitamins, complex carbs, protein, and antioxidants it contains. Maybe I’m crazy. Maybe you should be crazy too. Make this smoothie.

All My Love,
Kelsey May

Leave a Reply

