Spinach-Bacon-Potato Quiche

I read today that 1 Twix pack has the same amount of saturated fat as 11 slices of bacon.  Which means, we all need to be eating a lot more bacon. I mean, I haven’t eaten a Twix in over a year… I think I deserve some deliciously crispy Oscar Meyer Center Cut Bacon.

As Kevin says… “Owe Gahsh.”

Anyway, this quiche should meet your daily quota for bacon.

As always, I asked My Picky Husband what he’d change.  Usually when I ask him this, he says one of the following:

a) nothing
b) more gravy
c) make more next time
d) please don’t make me eat brussels sprouts ever again

This time, he suggested more egg and crispier potatoes.  I felt the exact opposite way–I liked the potatoes soft, and liked the ratio of egg to other fillings.  All this just goes to say, that with quiche, you are completely free to change things up, add whatever you want, omit what you want, and change the ratios of what goes in.  This quiche is your playground (or for me, it’s my Four-Square court. I was the bomb at Four Square).

Bacon Spinach Quiche with a Potato Crust
(Recipe heavily adapted from Sing For Your Supper)

2 Red Potatoes, thinly sliced
Olive Oil
Salt n Peppa
8 oz bag fresh spinach
8 slices bacon
1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
7 eggs
1/2 cup sour cream

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Arrange potatoes on a pie pan. Take a picture, because it’s pretty. See?

Brush potatoes with olive oil (or, if you have a spray bottle of olive oil, give the surface of the potatoes a good spray).  Sprinkle well with salt n’ peppa. (Remember that potatoes need salt to taste good; this is not the time to go easy on salt.) Bake the potatoes for 20-25 minutes, or until they have reached your desired golden crispness. Reduce oven heat to 375 degrees.

Meanwhile, heat a tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet over medium heat.  Add half the spinach.  Stir until it’s completely wilted and soft- the volume of the spinach will reduce immensely.  Remove the spinach to a plate, and repeat until you have sauteed all the spinach.

Fry the bacon (using the same pan that you wilted the spinach in) until it’s very crunchy but not burned.  I once made the mistake of putting soft bacon in a quiche… don’t do it. Once the bacon is cooled, chop into small pieces.

In a bowl, whisk together eggs, sour cream, cheese and salt n peppa until smooth and well combined. Stir spinach and bacon into the egg mixture, and pour evenly over the potato crust.  Sprinkle additional cheese on top if desired.

Bake 35-45 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center of the quiche comes out clean.

Enjoy!

Kelsey May

4 responses to “Spinach-Bacon-Potato Quiche

  1. Owe Gahshhhhhh that sounds good! On another note, you wanna play four square sometime? I just happen to love that game as well. We were definitely made to be friends.

    • i am laughing out loud about owwweeee gaaaaahhsssshhh. and, yes, i think we should definitely set up a Henry/Longino 4 square club. we’re always looking for new things to do, right?

  2. I love love quiche! I have a really good recipe to share with you that includes tomatoes, rosemary, feta cheese, and fresh oregano. Or you could just run with the ingredients I just posted. :)

    • erin, that sounds great! I will have to make it for myself sometime– i am slightly limited by a husband who doesn’t like 75% of those things :) why do you think all the food I post is centered around meat or chocolate?

Leave a Reply

